encouraging conversation

Why am I a week late writing this post? Hmm, I think I may have to start removing the dates off my posts so I can slyly slip them up here.  Shall I begin with an excuse again?

I recognise the importance of blogging but it just doesn’t seem a priority for me at the moment.  On a To-Do list, it would fall at the bottom. But why? Probably because I am not involved with my audience.  I have no conversation and no network.

Last week, in a lecture given by Adam Tinworth from RBI, we were told that a blog is no place for Opinion.  It should be a place for sharing information; posting a link, a photo or a video. You should have enthusiasm but it shouldn’t be opinionated.  This I find hard to accept, but I am willing to follow his advice to see if I can become a better blogger.

Adam went on to discuss the traits of a good blogger –

A good blogger is:

Curious cat

Inquisitive

Communicative

Honest

Enthusiastic

Informed

Social

(Photo taken by dcjohn on Flickr)

Now, one could say that this rather lovely looking cat has all these qualities – who by the way is known as Bartlet – but a slightly better analogy would be to compare it to a beat journalist.  If we start to define ourselves by beats again and concentrate on the input of the information, rather than the output, we can all make good bloggers.  If we look at blogging like that, it isn’t so scary.

In doing a little research about Adam Tinworth, Google delightfully returned Tweet of the Week – for the week beginning Oct 5th.

Picture 1

It is clear that Adam feels very passionately about the world of “social media”.  He has enthusiasm for his subject which drives traffic and encourages conversation.  What I am finding hard about blogging is that I don’t have a niche.

Over the past few weeks, I have generated just over 100 hits. If I were a newspaper I would be dying. Adam Tinworth made it very clear that one of the most important skills a good blogger can have is enthusiasm.

I have buckets of enthusiasm to spare. But, I am just not sure what I want to pour myself into.

12 Comments

Filed under journalism, online

12 responses to “encouraging conversation

  1. defpunk

    Screw that Tinworth guy, who is he even? I don’t like people who try to tell people what their own personal space on the net is supposed to be. A blog can be opinions, it can be analogies of your adventures with heroin, wearing wigs in public or writing heavily opinionated pieces on your neighbour, if you so want.

    Besides, who really cares how often a blog is updated? Good posts always stand for themselves, even after years. The posts of the kind that people like Adam Tinworth want published will be forgotten within months because they usually deal with some petty news story or hip-at-the-moment youtube video, in other words, things next to nobody is still going to take the time to look at in years from now.

    However writing about ones feelings or opinions on things that don’t change every week are still worth reading in years, and people will still feel connected with what you write, and might even comment a year or two after you originally wrote the post (I do that all the time).

    In fact blogging is the only kind of social media I actually like, for that very same reason. If all people started blogging about was the same old ‘hey check this out’ kind of shyte, I’d be gone in a second, imo that’s just pathetic.

  2. DIH

    I can show you how to change the date of your blog posts 🙂

  3. DIH

    Btw – I also can’t accept that a blog should not contain opinions. I do however feel that balance is necessary; I believe that, for value, the opinions should be constructive or at least forward-looking, not destructive.

    Reflection is the largest value of blogging. It is hard to see how you can be a reflective blogger without holding an opinion as well.

    • I agree. I think Adam was trying to suggest that in creating a blog with less opinion and more fact, you can become a sort of “home page” for a niche topic, which would then encourage a specific, loyal readership..

      Excellent news, alt 3! My life just got so much easier x

  4. dcJohn

    No opinions on a blog? Well that’s complete nonsense, and it ignores the history of blogging as a genre of writing, which is characterized by a heavy dose of personal perspective and opinion.

    I’m glad you found my photo of Bartlet helpful. He is certainly at least inquisitive and communicative. I posted the photo under a creative commons license, so you’re very welcome to it. I’d appreciate it if you’d include an attribution to the work (just a “Photo by dcjohn on Flickr”) and/or link back to the original image. With this and most images put under creative commons licenses, it’s a requirement. (Plus it makes sense… think how annoyed you’d be if someone co-opted your words in a blog post without linking to their original source.)

  5. Dotty

    i love opinions. not too much tho. what does he know anyway, he publishes Poultry World.

  6. You’ve got 100 hits on your blog? In my opinion that’s pretty good …

  7. Come to this rather late. Some lovely personal abuse in here… 🙂

    I never, ever said that blogs shouldn’t contain opinion, just that they shouldn’t be Opinion. I was warning specifically against journalists’ tendency to write a blog as if it was a newspaper leader or opinion column, rather than exploring all the options that blogging gives.

    My blog is full of opinion – it’s just not all that’s there.

    • Ha!
      I really hope I didn’t say anything offensive. I think it was a good point to make to all of us novice bloggers. And I really hope that I have taken it on board.
      Blogs can all too often become pieces where people just rant, and not share information.

      The information that you have shared with me has been really valuable. And your Opinion, even more so.
      Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

