a little test..

I thought I would do a little mid afternoon test. Can I use Facebook as a journalistic tool at 1.30pm on a Thursday afternoon?

Besides the usual girl meets boy, girl loves boy, girl dumps boy publicly on facebook and removes her relationship status – is there actually anything I could use for a story?

The Journalist’s Guide to Facebook seems to think that we can, “Journalists and the institutions they write for are finding Facebook to be an important resource in conducting the reporting that they do.” – But are we? Our use of Facebook is limited as we choose who to be friends with.

Picture 1Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like I am friends with anyone newsworthy. But I will not give up at the first hurdle, let’s have a closer look.

Picture 3

No, definitely not. Everyone is interesting in playing a farming game on my facebook page. I can’t seem to find an interesting angle or point in my news feed.

So, I have a had a thought – granted, an unoriginal thought, but what if I set up a facebook account that could source stories for me.  Perhaps, I could start with a group within my friendship network, but then if I created a username specifically targeted at sourcing stories I could reap some dishy rewards.

But, of course, this would only work if I build a relationship with the people in my community, as Leah Betancourt from MASHABLE, the social media guide says,

Picture 2

Right then, I am off to be a human journalist…

 

2 Comments

Filed under journalism, online

2 responses to “a little test..

  1. Funny enough Ive just read a blog on Stephen Fry slating the lazy journalists of twitter, it would seem being a human journalist really is a better option I guess!?

    http://blogs.ft.com/techblog/2009/11/stephen-fry-and-the-new-kings-of-twitter/

  2. Thanks for your comment! That article is really interesting! How did you find my site?

Leave a Reply

